Afghanistan Welcomes 10 Key Principles of 12 Allied Countries for Future Assistance

Afghanistan Welcomes 10 Key Principles of 12 Allied Countries for Future Assistance


Reporterly Reporterly

18 Nov 2020

The Afghan government has welcomed the position of its major international partners to raise ten key principles as a condition for continued and sustained international assistance to the Afghan peace and development process.

After carefully reviewing the principles, the Afghanistan cabinet considered them useful for achieving lasting peace in line with the goals and priorities of the people and the government of Afghanistan.

The ten principles are as below:
1. An inclusive Afghan-led and Afghan-owned peace process that preserves and builds on the political, economic and social achievements of the Afghan people since 2001.
2. 2. A permanent and comprehensive ceasefire.
3. 3. Continued commitment to democracy, the rule of law, and human rights.
4. 4. Peace negotiations and the subsequent agreement, as well as its implementation, conducted in an inclusive way.
5. A meaningful, demonstrable fight against corruption.
6. Respect for Afghanistan’s international obligations and Afghan State institutions.
7. The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals provide a guiding framework for continued international development assistance to Afghanistan.
8. The commitments by the Government of Afghanistan and the Taliban to prevent any international terrorist groups or individuals, from using Afghan soil to threaten the security of other countries, and their commitments to combatting drug trafficking and illegal networks of human trafficking.
9. The principle of mutual accountability between the Government of Afghanistan and its international development partners needs to be continued with any future government.
10. Safe and unhindered access for all humanitarian and development actors, free of any illegal taxes and levies on the assistance delivered.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that the Afghan government, with its strong belief in peace, security and public welfare, considers the realization and implementation of these 10 elements necessary for the success of the negotiations and the achievement of lasting peace, as well as the democratic progress of Afghanistan as a responsible and active member of the international community.

“In addition, the fulfillment of these elements is the basis for reconstruction, security and economic prosperity, and plays an important and fundamental role in improving the difficult living conditions of our poor compatriots. Therefore, the Government of Afghanistan considers itself committed to fulfilling the principles set forth by the international community, and will renew this commitment at the Afghanistan Conference in Geneva,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs added.

The twelve countries include Australia, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, UK, US and the EU that have suggested the 10 elements for sustained international support to peace and development in Afghanistan to help expedite the Afghan peace process.

In the meantime, the embassy of Canada in Afghanistan said that it stands by the 10 key principles for future assistance, respect for human rights, humanitarian access and a ceasefire.