Mir Rahman Rahmani Elected as Afghan Parliament Speaker

Mir Rahman Rahmani was elected as Afghanistan parliament speaker on Saturday after securing 136 votes.


Meanwhile, Khan Mohammad Wadrak failed to win majority in parliament election for speakership as he received 96 votes.

A minimum of 123 votes are needed for a candidate to win. MPs in the Afghan parliament this afternoon started voting for Mir Rahman Rahmani and Khan Mohammad Wardak to elect one of them as the house speaker.

The election ends a month-long stalemate and several incidents of brawls in the parliament.

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Newsfeed Saturday, June 29