Voting for Lower House Speaker, No Declared Winner

Newly elected MPs of the lower House of Parliament on Saturday started the process of electing the house speaker.

The main contenders for the position were Mir Rahman Rahmani and Kamal Nasir Osuli.


However neither of the two candidates succeeded in getting the position as the Wolesi Jirga speaker as they got 123 and 55 votes respectively. A total 124 votes were needed for the post.

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Newsfeed: Saturday, May 18