Afghanistan Appoints 12 Ambassadors And Extends Term Of 1

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) appointed 12 ambassadorial candidates and extended the term of office of a current ambassador on Thursday.

In a press release, the MFA said this move would “further strengthen the diplomatic apparatus” and help in achieving Afghanistan’s foreign policy priorities.

The new members are:

U.K. – Zalmai Rassoul, former Foreign Minister and National Security Advisor.

Germany – Yama Yari, former Minister of Transport.

Kyrgyzstan – Bismillah Waziri, former Chief of Staff of the Afghan Armed Forces.

Russia – Said T. Jawad, current ambassador to the U.K. and Ireland.

Austria – Manizha Bakhtari, former ambassador to Norway.

Azerbaijan – Amanullah Jaihoon, current head of the Fourth Political Directorate of the MFA, and former ambassador to Turkey.

Italy – Khalid Ahmad Zakaria, current head of the Fifth Political Directorate of the MFA.

Pakistan – Najibullah Alikhil, current ambassador to Turkmenistan.

Turkey – Amir Mohammad Ramin, current director of regional cooperation at the MFA.

India – Farid Mamondzai, former Deputy Director of the Independent Directorate of Local Governance.

Turkmenistan – Khan Wali Khan Basharmal, current Deputy of the Administrative Office of the President.

Meanwhile, Shafaq Khawati, was nominated for Special Ambassador for Immigration in Iran, while the term of Wahidullah Weiss, the current ambassador to Australia, was extended for another year.

The new ambassadors will be reporting to their posts soon.

Of the appointees, five hold doctoral degrees and eight have a master’s.

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Newsfeed; Thursday, September 3 2020